No. 74A.

PETITION.

To the Honourable the Speaker and to the Legislative Assembly of the Province of British Columbia, in Parliament assembled:

The petition of the undersigned, Bernard MacDonald, Edmund B. Kirby and T. Mayne Daly, all of the City of Rossland; and J. Roderick Robertson, H. E. Croasdaile, J. J. Campbell, S. S. Fowler, T. J. Duncan, R. R. Hedley, J. R. Gifford, W. H. Sandiford, T. G. Proctor, E. R. Woakes and J. C. Ryan, all of the City of Nelson; and H. B. Alexander, W. E. Zwicky, David Heap, M. R. W. Rathborne, A. W. Wright, J. A. Whittier, E. Rammelmeyer, G. W. Hughes, G. F. Ransom and R. E. Fishburn, all of the town of Sandon; and Charles E. Hope, of the City of Vancouver, in the Province of British Columbia, humbly showeth:—

- 1. That it is in the interest of the Mining industry of the Province of British Columbia that an Association should be formed for the purposes hereinafter mentioned.
- 2. That your petitioners are desirous of being incorporated as an Association for the following purposes, namely:—
 - First—To promote the Arts and Sciences connected with the economical production of valuable minerals and metals by means of meetings for the reading and discussion of technical papers and the subsequent distribution of such information as may be gained through the medium of publications.
 - Second—The establishment of a Central Reference Library and headquarters for the purposes of this organisation.
 - Third—To take concerted action upon such matters as affect the Mining and Metallurgical industries of the Province of British Columbia, and to encourage and promote these industries by all lawful and honourable means.

Wherefore, your petitioners humbly pray that your Honourable Body will be pleased to pass an act incorporating them for the purposes aforesaid and conferring upon them all necessary powers in that behalf.

And your petitioners, as in duty bound, will ever pray.

BERNARD MACDONALD, EDMUND B. KIRBY, T. MAYNE DALY, J. Roderick Robertson, Per J. F., HENRY E. CROASDAILE, J. J. CAMPBELL, SAMUEL S. FOWLER, Per J. F., T. J. DUNCAN, Per J. Laing Stocks, ROBERT R. HEDLEY, J. R. GIFFORD, Per J. J. CAMPBELL, W. H. SANDIFORD, T. G. PROCTOR,

ERNEST R. WOAKES,
J. C. RYAN,
E. RAMMELMEYER,
H. B. ALEXANDER,
W. E. ZWICKY,
DAVID HEAP,
M. R. W. RATHBORNE,
Per L. A.,
A. W. WRIGHT,
J. A. WHITTIER,
G. W. HUGHES,
G. F. RANSOM,
By W. E. ZWICKY,
R. E. FISHBURN,
CHAS. E. HOPE.