PETITION.

To the Honourable the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of British Columbia, in Parliament assembled:

The humble petition of the "West Kootenay Land Company, Limited Liability," sheweth:

- 1. That your petitioners are the owners in fee simple of the lands situate in West Kootenay District, known as Lots 205, 205A, 205B, 206 and 206A.
- 2. That your petitioners have surveyed and laid out part of the said lands into two Townsites, known as "Sayward" and "Solmo," respectively.
- 3. That your petitioners have expended large sums of money in the improvement of the said lands, and are still expending money in that direction
- 4. That your petitioners have the largest interest in the welfare and well-being of the said Townsites and the inhabitants thereof, and are desirous of having preserved for the benefit and convenience of the inhabitants of the said Townsites, the right, power, and privilege of taking, to take, and divert water for the purpose of supplying water, light and power to the people of the said places when the need for the same arises.
- 5. That your petitioners strongly object (though with all becoming deference) to all Private Bills now before your Honourable Body asking for power to enter upon the lands of your petitioners for the purpose of diverting water, erecting poles and stringing wires thereon for telegraph or telephone purposes, or the building of tramways and such like works, without obtaining consent of your petitioners.

Your petitioners therefore pray that your Honourable House will exempt the beforementioned lands owned by your petitioners from the scope and operation of all the Private Bills now before the Legislative Assembly which contemplate the inclusion of the said lands in the "expropriation clauses" or powers applied for in the said Bills.

And your petitioners, as in duty bound, will ever pray.

Signed and sealed on behalf of the "West Kootenay Land Company, Limited."

Seal affixed by resolution of Company in presence of

ARTHUR E. HAYNES.

ARTHUR E. HAYNES.

James Hutcheson,
President.
E. Crow Baker,
Secretary.