APPENDIX E

ACT FOR THE UNION OF VANCOUVER ISLAND AND BRITISH COLUMBIA

CAP. LXVII.

An Act for the Union of the Colony of Vancouver Island with the Colony of British Columbia.

[6th August 1866.]

BE it enacted by the Queen's most Excellent Majesty, by and with the Advice and Consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the Authority of the same, as follows:

Short Title.

1. This Act may be cited as The British Columbia Act, 1866.

"Governor."

2. In this Act the Term "Governor" means any Officer for the Time being lawfully administering the Government.

On Proclamation of this Act in British Columbia, Vancouver Island united therewith.

3. From and immediately after the Proclamation of this Act by the Governor of *British Columbia*, the Colony of *Vancouver Island* shall be and the same is hereby united with the Colony of *British Columbia*, and thenceforth those Two Colonies shall form and be One Colony, with the Name of *British Columbia* (which Union is in this Act referred to as the Union).

As to Government of the United Colony.

4. On the Union taking effect, the Form of Government existing in Vancouver Island as a separate Colony shall cease, and the Power and Authority of the Executive Government and of the Legislature existing in British Columbia shall extend to and over Vancouver Island; but in order that Provision may be made for the Representation of Vancouver Island in the Legislature of British Columbia after the Union, the maximum Number of Councillors in the Legislative Council of British Columbia after the Union shall, until it is otherwise provided by lawful Authority, be Twenty-three instead of Fifteen.

Laws of the separate Colonies to continue except as to Revenue of Customs. 5. After and notwithstanding the Union the Laws in force in the separate Colonies of *British Columbia* and *Vancouver Island* respectively at the Time of the Union taking effect shall, until it is otherwise provided by lawful Authority, remain in force as if this Act had not been passed or proclaimed; save only that the Laws relative to the Revenue of Customs in force in *British Columbia* at the Time of the Union taking effect shall, until it is otherwise provided by lawful Authority, extend and apply to *Vancouver Island*; and, until it is otherwise provided by lawful Authority, the Governor of *British Columbia* shall

have, in relation to the Territory for the Time being under his Government, all the Powers and Authorities for the Time being vested, in relation to the United Kingdom, in the Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury or in the Commissioners of Customs, with respect to the Appointment of Warehousing Ports, and the Approval and Appointment of Warehouses or Places of Security in such Ports, and everything consequent thereon or relative thereto.

Nothing to restrict Authority of Governor, &c.

6. Nothing in this Act shall take away or restrict the Authority of the Governor of *British Columbia*, with the Advice and Consent of the Legislative Council thereof, to make Laws for the Peace, Order, and good Government of *British Columbia* either before or after the Union; nor shall anything in this Act interfere with the Exercise of any Power that would have been exerciseable by Her Majesty in Council if this Act had not been passed.

Boundaries of British Columbia until Union. 7. Until the Union British Columbia shall comprise all such Territories within the Dominions of Her Majesty as are bounded to the South by the Territories of the United States of America, to the West by the Pacific Ocean and the Frontier of the Russian Territories in North America, to the North by the Sixtieth Parallel of North Latitude, and to the East from the Boundary of the United States Northwards by the Rocky Mountains and the One hundred and twentieth Meridian of West Longitude, and shall include Queen Charlotte's Island and all other Islands adjacent to the said Territories, except Vancouver Island and the Islands adjacent thereto.

Boundaries of British Columbia after Union. **8**. After the Union *British Columbia* shall comprise all the Territories and Islands aforesaid and *Vancouver Island* and the Islands adjacent thereto.

Acts in Schedule, repealed. 9. The Acts described in the Schedule to this Act are hereby repealed; but this Repeal shall not invalidate any Order in Council or other Instrument issued under the Authority of those Acts or either of them, or any Act done or Right or Title acquired by virtue of those Acts or of either of them or of any such Order or Instrument.

SCHEDULE.

Acts repealed.

21 & 22 Vict. c. 99	An Act to provide for the Government of British Columbia.
26 & 27 Vict. c. 83	An Act to define the Boundaries of the Colony of British Columbia, and to continue an Act to provide for the Government of the said Colony.